2013 Orion Book Award

The winner of this year's Orion Book Award has just been announced: Apocalyptic Planet: Field Guide to the Everending Earth, by Craig Childs. All of the nominees are listed below and can be ordered through this website.

The Orion Book Award is given annually to a book that addresses the human relationship with the natural world in a fresh, thought provoking, and engaging manner. Four additional books are named as finalists.

Books eligible for the Orion Book Award are judged against these criteria:

• That it deepens our connection to the natural world

• That it presents new ideas about our relationship with nature

• That it achieves excellence in writing

The Orion Book Award recognizes books published in North America during the previous calendar year. Nominations for the award are made by advisors, writers, editors, and contributing editors of Orion. Selection of the winning book and four finalists are made by a five-person selection committee, which changes annually. This year's judges were Jessa Crispin, Ursula K. LeGuin, Erik Reece, Luis Alberto Urrea, Hannah Fries.

You can read more about the Orion and the awards at the Orion Magazine website.



Apocalyptic Planet: Field Guide to the Everending Earth Cover Image
ISBN: 9780307379092
Availability: Special Order
Published: Pantheon - October 2nd, 2012

Flight Behavior: A Novel Cover Image
ISBN: 9780062124265
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - November 6th, 2012

Things That Are Cover Image
ISBN: 9781571313348
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Milkweed Editions - June 19th, 2012

The Old Ways: A Journey on Foot Cover Image
ISBN: 9780670025114
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Viking Books - October 11th, 2012

The Mountain and the Fathers: Growing Up on the Big Dry Cover Image
ISBN: 9781582437941
Availability: Special Order
Published: Counterpoint LLC - February 28th, 2012