The Penderwicks on Gardam Street (Hardcover)

The Penderwicks on Gardam Street Cover Image
$16.99
We can typically get this book within 1 to 5 days

Description


With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

The Penderwick sisters are home on Gardam Street and ready for an adventure! But the adventure they get isn’t quite what they had in mind. Mr. Penderwick’s sister has decided it’s time for him to start dating—and the girls know that can only mean one thing: disaster. Enter the Save-Daddy Plan—a plot so brilliant, so bold, so funny, that only the Penderwick girls could have come up with it. It’s high jinks, big laughs, and loads of family warmth as the Penderwicks triumphantly return.

About the Author


Jeanne Birdsall lives in Northampton, Massachusetts, with her husband and a large assortment of animals. The Penderwicks on Gardam Street is her second novel.

Praise For…


Starred Review, School Library Journal, March 2008:

"This is a book to cherish and to hold close like a warm, cuddly blanket that you draw around yourself to keep out the cold."

Starred Review, Booklist, May 1, 2008:

"Just the sort of cozy fare that's missing in today's mean-girl world."

Starred Review, Publishers Weekly, April 28, 2008:

“It's sheer pleasure to spend time with these exquisitely drawn characters, girls so real that readers will feel the wind through their hair as they power down the soccer field.”
Review, San Francisco Chronicle, April 27, 2008:
"Birdsall writes with amazing grace."
Review, Parade, June 22, 2008:
"[A]n old-fashioned (in a good way) read with well-drawn characters, warmth, and humor."
Review, The New York Times Book Review, July 13, 2008:
"Birdsall's second novel . . . offers comforting comedy."


Product Details
ISBN: 9780375840906
ISBN-10: 0375840907
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 8th, 2008
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: The Penderwicks